top of page
Recent Posts

Lash Life Cycles

Did you know the average person has more than 150 natural lashes per upper eye?

If you've ever wondered why extensions take so long; its easily over 300 hairs we deal with! At fill appointments, we replace a little less than half of those. As the natural lash goes through its individual growth cycle, its normal to lose three-to-five lashes a day per eye. There are three stages to the growth cycle: Anagen, Catagen and Telogen.

Anagen is the “baby” phase or known as actively growing. Approximately 40 percent of all lashes are in this phase at any given time. The lashes grow until they've reached their fully developed length. This can take upwards of 35 days.

From there, the lashes move into Catagen. Known as the transition phase, the hair follicle starts to shrink as the lash is no longer growing.

After a few weeks it is in its final stage, Telogen. Telogen is the hair’s resting phase. It can last up to four months with proper care.

During this time, a new hair is prepping to push out the old lash to start the cycle over again.

If you are interested in enhancing the look of your natural lashes, visit us at the Beauty Lounge for a lash lift or lash extensions.


Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page